Directorate of Land Reform

Land Reform is a pivotal issue to the socio-economic development in Namibia. Disparities inland distribution emanating from the successive colonial regimes, coupled with a protracted policy of land dispossession of the indigenous Namibians, is a major challenge that the Namibian Government is facing. The Directorate of Land Reform consists of two main divisions namely, the Division of Land Boards, Tenure and Advice (LBTA), and the Division of Land Use Planning and Allocation (LUPA). The main function of the directorate is to administer the Agricultural (Commercial) Land Reform Act, Act No. 6 of 1995 (ACLRA) and the Communal Land Reform Act, Act No.5 of 2002. The National Land Policy was also developed and is being implemented by the directorate.


The Division of Land Boards, Tenure and Advice (LBTA) mission is to fairly administer Namibia’s communal land policies and legislation, implementers such as the Communal Land Boards and Traditional Authorities execute effective development and sustainable utilization of communal land. The Division is therefore tasked to administer the National Land Policy, the National Land Tenure Policy and the Communal Land Reform Act. LBTA is responsible for the coordination of the Communal Land Boards, aid in the development of communal areas (excluding land that falls under the jurisdiction of Local Authorities) and to render advisory services on land tenure systems.


The Division of Land use Planning and Allocation is the national systematic assessor of the natural resources potential. The mandate of this division is to availalternative of land use options considering economic and social conditions in the process of selecting the best land-use options. LUPA is responsible for developing land use plans for commercial and communal land by coordinating inter-sectoral land-use activities. Land Use Planning is a sector that us an integrative decision making process approach that facilitates the allocation of land to the users whose land-use plans are deemed likely to provide the greatest sustainable benefit. It is a crucial instrument for the government to manage land resources within the overall context of rural and urban development. It is based on the previously stated factors that LUPA was established.


This division is responsible for facilitating, coordinating and implementing the resettlement process and activities, and for keeping and maintaining a database of information on the resettled beneficiaries. The major functions of this Division are:

  • Allocation of resettlement farms(resettlement process)
  • Resettlement rental fees and lease agreement
  • Post-settlement support
  • Resolution of disputes
  • Group resettlement projects
Responsive Image

Mr. Albertus Engelbrecht
Regional Representative
Tel: +264 63-222868